What Types of People Do Raja Yoga?

Get the best Yoga Tips at Yoga Divinity

Raja yoga is considered the royal course to enlightenment through mind-calming exercise. It highlights self-mastery of the mind and is one of the branches, or paths, of yoga. Various other major branches like karma yoga, bhakti yoga, jnana yoga exercise and hatha yoga exercise. Relying on your strategy to life, you might identify with one branch even more than an additional. Karma yoga exercise is the path of service or action. Bhakti yoga exercise highlights devotion and love. Jnana yoga is the course of intelligence or understanding. Hatha yoga, the most famous branch in the United States, focuses the mind with the physical practice of postures.

Who Is Attracted to Raja Yoga?

According to yoga exercise and meditation teacher Michele Hébert, raja yoga incorporates all courses and styles of yoga to help manage the mind and find inner consistency. ‘It’s inclusive of all the yoga exercises liking hatha yoga. There’s no one type of person or character that’s attracted to raja yoga. It’s a soul calling,’ says Hebert. ‘There’s a season and cycle for every soul to look for spiritual unfoldment no matter your age, personality or external circumstance.’

Meditative Approach to Yoga

Others believe that the internal, meditative qualities of raja yoga exercise appeal to particular teams of individuals even more than others. According to the ‘Yoga Journal’ internet site, raja yoga draws in individuals who’re ‘introspective and drawn to meditation.’ While you do not have to sign up with an abbey or ashram to be a raja yogi, members of spiritual and spiritual areas often commit themselves to this royal course of yoga.

Eight Limbs of Yoga

The foundation of raja yoga is the eight-limbed philosophy discovered in the Yoga Sutras. The Sutras were assembled by an Indian sage called Patanjali around 500 B.C. and they’ve become the most revered philosophy of yoga. The Sutras consist of 8 actions to help you reach self-realization or union with the divine: 1) Yamas: ethical criteria, 2) Niyamas: self-discipline, 3) Asana: the physical practice or positions, 4) Pranayama: breathing strategies, 5) Pratyhara: withdrawal of the 5 senses, 6) Dharana: concentration, 7) Dyana: reflection, and 8) Samadhi: total liberation and peace. Raja yoga exercise integrates the eight-limbed system of yoga with other branches of yoga exercise, consisting of hatha yoga exercise, to soothe the mind and find spiritual fulfillment.

Dropping the Stereotypes

People from all walks of life choose the path of raja yoga. Although stereotypes of yogis abound, eventually anyone who uses the power of the mind to seek his real nature is practicing raja yoga. World-renowned yoga exercise teacher B.K.S. Iyengar says, ‘He who’s conquered his mind is a raja yogi.’