What Are the Benefits of Raja Yoga?

Get the best Yoga Tips at Yoga Divinity

Raja yoga focuses largely on reflection. Raja suggests ‘royal,’ and the practice can be compared with regulating the changes of your mind as a king regulates his kingdom. The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali synopsis 8 limbs of yoga, gone over in the Yoga Diary, that form the basis of raja yoga. Those who’re introspective and enjoy mind-calming exercise could be specifically drawn to and enjoy raja yoga.

Ethical Standards or Yamas

The initially limb, ethical requirements or yamas, involves treating others with stability. There are 5 yamas: nonviolence, or ahimsa, truthfulness, or satya, nonstealing, or asteya, continence, or brahmacharya, and noncovetousness, or aparigraha. By living ethically and treating others well, you can lower interpersonal stressors.

Self-Discipline or Niyama

The second limb, self-discipline or niyama, motivates you to work out discipline and nurture your spirit. There are 5 niyamas: tidiness, or saucha, contentment, or samtosa, heat and spiritual austerities, or tapas, research of yourself and the scriptures, or svadhyaya, and surrender to a greater power, or Isvara pranidhana.

Postures or Asanas

The third limb, postures or asanas, comprises the physical practice of yoga. According to yogic philosophy, the body houses the spirit and proper care of the body is very important to spiritual infestation. Practicing asanas develops your discipline and concentration– attributes required for meditation.

Breath Control or Pranayama

The 4th limb, breath control or pranayama, assists you acknowledge the connection between the breath, mind and emotions. Various breathing exercises can be incorporated into your asana practice. These exercises assist you unwind your body, peaceful your mind and stay in today minute.

Sensory Withdrawal or Pratyahara

The 5th limb, sensory withdrawal or pratyahara, needs drawing your awareness from the selection of sense stimuli produced by the covering environment. Through sensory withdrawal, you find out to let go of outdoors distractions and direct your attention inward. This practice helps you examine yourself more objectively and determine unhealthy practices that you’ve to let go.

Concentration or Dharana

The sixth limb, concentration or dharana, becomes possible after sensory withdrawal has begun. After releasing outside distractions, you refocus your mind on a solitary mental item. For instance, you could close your eyes and visualize a certain image or quietly repeat a noise in your mind. Concentration trains your mind to have laser-like focus and prepares it for meditation.

Meditation or Dhyana

The seventh limb, meditation or dhyana, can be defined as a constant flow of concentration. Although this might seem the same as the sixth limb, Concentration, there’s an important difference. Concentration needs one-pointed attention, while the objective of mind-calming exercise is to reach a state of keen awareness without focus. Mental clutter is removed so that your mind is calm and clear. Meditation also has physical benefits. A study published in the Indian Journal of Physiology and Pharmacology in 2008 discovered that raja yoga meditation lowered the risk of coronary artery condition by reducing serum cholesterol and low-density lipoprotein cholesterol in post-menopausal ladies.

Ecstasy or Samadhi

The eighth limb, euphoria or samadhi, describes a state of enlightenment. At this level, you come together with your focal point and transcend the Self. You become aware of the interconnectedness of all living things and experience peace, freedom and satisfaction.