Members of the Khalsa are required to wear the turban.

Get the best Yoga Tips at Yoga Divinity

The Khalsa is a religious order to which the majority of modern Sikhs belong. It was developed by Guru Gobind Singh, the 10th leader of the Sikh religion, in 1699 CE. Membership in the Khalsa is given by the Amrit baptismal routine, and holds with it a number of special requirements. Among these is the severe practice of Sikh prayer and reflection.

The Khalsa

Members of the Khalsa order are expected to follow certain constraints, such as keeping the hair long, carrying a comb and a sword and putting on a bracelet. Khalsa guys are also anticipated to wear a turban. Khalsa men make use of the surname ‘Singh,’ and Khalsa females make use of the surname ‘Kaur.’ These are the most evident visible symbols of the Sikh religion, however they really use just to members of the Khalsa order and not to all Sikhs. The most vital point of being a Khalsa is religious devotion, so prayer and mind-calming exercise play a significant part.

Sikh Meditation

Religiously sincere Sikhs, such as members of the Khalsa, are expected to get up prior to sunup to hope and meditate. Sikh mind-calming exercise is based upon prayer. Unlike Zen mind-calming exercise, for instance, which is based on clearing the mind of reflective ideas, Sikh meditation is concentrated on the recitation of the divine name ‘Waheguru’ and the hymns and scriptures of Sikhism. The name Waheguru applauds God as the ‘destroyer of darkness,’ and the hymns utilized in Sikh meditation originated from the Sikh scriptures or ‘Guru Granth Sahib.’

The Guru Granth Sahib

Sikhs were originally led by a collection of Gurus or spiritual masters, however from 1708 CE onward, members of the Khalsa have actually considered the Sikh scriptures to be their Guru rather of a human religious leader. That’s why the Sikh scriptures are considered the ‘Guru’ Granth Sahib. The Guru Granth Sahib is comprised exclusively of hymns and poems of spiritual praise to be made use of in prayer and meditation. By recounting these hymns, participants of the Khalsa seek to obtain closer to God.

Stages of Devotion

According to Khalsa Sikhs, there are four phases of spiritual development for a Sikh. The first stage is ‘Manmukh,’ which refers to a non-religious and materialistic individual, a person without spirituality. The second phase is a ‘Sikh,’ an individual who’s actually accepted the Sikh religious beliefs without committing to the discipline of the Khalsa order. The 3rd phase is a ‘Khalsa,’ a consistently sincere Sikh. With prayer, reflection and spiritual discipline, a Khalsa could become a ‘Gurmukh,’ an individual whose life is entirely concentrated on God.