Free Sivananda Yoga Workouts

Get the best Yoga Tips at Yoga Divinity

Sivananda is a design of yoga exercise established by Swami Vishnudevananda and called for his instructor. Sivananda yoga exercise, introduced to the West in the 1950s, highlights physical, mental and spiritual health with five principles: proper asana, or positions, appropriate pranayama, or breathing workouts, appropriate leisure, proper diet, and positive thinking and mind-calming exercise. The Sivananda exercise is made to build flexibility, promote circulation, reinforce bones, relax the mind and lower anxiety.

Corpse Pose

A normal Sivananda workout takes about an hour and a half, starting with savasana, or Remains Pose, where you push your back and unwind deeply. Let your arms and legs fall out to your sides as you enable your body to merge the floor to drop you deeper into leisure. Begin your practice in Corpse for two to three mins. You’ll likewise do Remains Pose between asanas and as a final leisure.


Breathing exercises, done while seated in a cross-legged position, stimulate you for your practice. These include kapalabhati, where you contract your abdominal muscles to breathe out quickly, and anuloma viloma, where you breathe alternately through each nostril. You then warm up your upper body with neck rolls, shoulder lifts and eye workouts, where you look up and down, side to side and around in a circle, both clockwise and counterclockwise.

Sun Salutations

Sun Salutations, a streaming sequence of postures, limber up your whole body by extending your body forward and backwards and managing your breathing. The series starts in the standing Mountain Pose, followed by an upward stretch, forward flex, lunge to the right, Plank Pose, Cobra, Downward-Facing Dog, a lunge to the left, forward bend, upward stretch and Mountain Pose. To complete one round, repeat the sequence with a lunge to the left after the first forward bend and a lunge to the right from Downward-Facing Pet dog. Eventually, you can build up to doing 12 rounds.

12 Postures

The 12 Sivananda fundamental asanas are: Headstand, Shoulder Stand, Plow, Fish, Seated Forward Bend, Cobra, Locust, Bow, Half Spine Twist, Crow, Standing Forward Flex and Triangle. You hold each asanas as you breath deeply for a full meditative impact and gently launch your body when you’re done. According to ‘The Sivananda Friend to Yoga,’ written by Lucy Lidell, the series is designed to maintain correct curvature of the spine and purify your nerve stations so breath can stream easily.

Deep Relaxation

In Sivananda, you hold the final Remains Pose for 10 minutes. This last rest will most likely be the most peaceful one because you’ve actually extended and unwinded your muscles.


See your health care professional before starting a brand brand-new workout routine. Practice each posture gradually and carefully with full attention on your breath.