There are seven chakras, or energy centers, in the body that become blocked by longheld stress and reduced self-esteem. But exercising postures that correspond to each chakra can launch these blocks and clear the course to greater consciousness.

chakras, yoga, yoga paws, yogapaws, chakra system

Get the best Yoga Tips at Yoga Divinity

The chakra system offers an academic base for fine-tuning our yoga practice to fit our distinct character and situations. Typically, Indians saw the body as consisting of seven major chakras, organized vertically from the base of the spinal column to the top of the head. Chakra is the Sanskrit word for wheel, and these ‘wheels’ were taken spinning vortexes of energy.

Each chakra is associated with particular functions within the body and with specific life issues and the method we handle them, both inside ourselves and in our interactions with the world. chakra chart, yoga, yoga paws, chakras

There are many yoga postures that can correct chakra imbalances, bringing us back to our body and the earth and assisting us experience security, safety, and stillness.

Muladhara Chakra (Root Chakra), Focused at the perineum and the base of the spinal column, this energy vortex is associateded with tending to our survival needs, establishing a healthy sense of groundedness, taking good basic care of the body, and purging the body of wastes. The connected body components include the base of the spinal column, the legs, feet, and the huge intestinal tract.

supta buddha konasana, bound angel pose, yoga, yoga paws, meditation chakra yoga

Yoga Posture: Supta Baddha Konasana (Reclining Bound Angle Pose)

Benefits: Launch and the root chakra to balance, frees energy circulation in pelvic location, increases vitality in digestive organs, quiets the mind, extends inner thighs and opens groins

The second chakra is called Svadisthana, which translates as ‘one’s own place or base.’ This chakra assists allow for emotional and sensuous motion in our life, opening to pleasure, and learning ways to ‘go with the circulation.’ Associated with the hips, sacrum, lesser back, genitals, womb, bladder, and kidneys, this chakra is included with sensuality, sexuality, emotions, intimacy, and desire.

yoga paws, yoga pose, gomukhasana, cow face pose, chakras

Yoga Pose: Gomukhasana (Cow Face Pose)

Benefits: Stretches the ankles, hips and thighs, shoulders, armpits and triceps, and chest. Balances 2nd chakra.

Located in the area of the solar plexus, navel, and the digestive system, the fiery third chakra is called Manipura, the “lustrous gem.” Associated with the color yellow, this chakra is involved in self-confidence, warrior energy, and the power of change, it likewise governs digestion and metabolism. This chakra is likewise the place of our deep belly laughter, warmth, convenience, and the vigor we receive from executing selfless service.

bow pose, dhanaurasana, yoga, yoga paws


Benefits: Rises strength and flexibility along the entire length of the spinal column. Balances thrid chakra.

The 4th chakra, the heart chakra(Anahata Chakra), rests in the center of the chakra system, at the core of our spirit. Its physical place is the heart, upper chest, and upper back. The 4th is the balance point, incorporating the world of issue (the lower three chakras) with the world of spirit (the upper 3 chakras). Through the heart chakra, we open to and get in touch with consistency and peace.

Cobra Pose Cobra Pose (Bhujangasana), yoga, chakras, yoga paws, yogapaws

Yoga Position: Cobra Pose Cobra Pose (Bhujangasana)

Benefits: Opens the chest, permitting deeper breathing. Helps to balance the heart chakra.

The throat chakra, Visuddha, is associated with the color turquoise blue and with the elements noise and ether, the industry of subtle vibrations old Indians believed pervaded deep space. Found in the neck, throat, jaw, and mouth, the Visuddha chakra resonates with our inner truth and assists us find an individual method to convey our voice to the outdoors.


Yoga Pose: Camel Pose – Ustrasana

Benefits: Stretches the front of the body including the chest, abdomen, and quadriceps. Alleviates spinal flexibility.

Imaginative capabilities– visualizing the past, creating positive photos of the future, and thinking– are all elements of Ajna ChakraAjna Chakra (3rd eye Chakra), whose Sanskrit name implies both ‘the understanding center’ and ‘the command center.’ Associated with the aspect light and the color indigo blue, the sixth chakra is found between and just above the physical eyes, creating the spiritual 3rd eye. While our both eyes see the material world, our sixth chakra sees past the physical. This vision includes clairvoyance, telepathy, intuition, dreaming, creativity, and visualization.

yoga, yoga paws, meditation, crown chakra

Meditation: Sit upright, holding the neck and head like a solider at attention. Take 5 deep breaths. This sends out oxygen into your blood stream and relaxes you. Look at the third eye location, in the middle of your forehead and just above your eyebrows. You’ll rest your hands in a comfortable position such as upon your knees. Continue to be as still as you possibly can. Inhale deeply while starting to chant in a steady, slow-moving soft voice the OM manta, pronounced AUM. For a whole exhalation the one single chant of OM (AUM) is sounded

Benefits: Assistance and inspiration, improvement of awareness, renovation of health and well being

The seventh chakra is found at the crown of the head and acts as the crown of the chakra system, representing the highest state of enlightenment and facilitating our spiritual advancement. The seventh chakra resembles a halo atop the head. In art, Christ is often portrayed with a golden light surrounding his head, and the Buddha revealed with a soaring projection on the top of his head. In both cases, these images stand for the awakened spirituality of the Sahasrara Chakra.