Ashtanga Yoga Primary Series Poses

Get the best Yoga Tips at Yoga Divinity

The ashtanga main collection is likewise referred to as the first collection and includes roughly 40 poses. The main series consists of standing, seated and resting poses as well as inversions. The main series might differ slightly relying on the teacher. Ashtanga yoga is a kind of yoga that was taught by the late Sri Pattabhi Jois. As with any new workout program, consult your doctor initially.

Standing Poses

Before beginning the standing positions in the ashtanga primary series, perform sun salute A or B as a warm-up. Next do the following postures in order: Padangusthasana or forward flex a, Pada Hastasana or forward bend b, Trikonasana or triangular, Parivritta Trikonasana or reversed triangle, Utthita Parsvakonasana or extended sideways, Prasarita Padottanasana or spread-leg, Parsvottanasana or sideways extension, Utthita Hasta Padangusthasana or extended hand to big toe, Ardha Baddha Padmottanasana or half-bound lotus, Utkatasana or intense and Virabhadrasana A and B or warrior.

Seated Poses

After completing the standing postures of the ashtanga primary series, carry out the following seated poses in order: Dandasana or sitting extension, Paschimottanasana or back extension, Purvottanasana or forward extension, Ardha Baddha Padma Paschimottanasana or seated half-bound lotus, Triang Mukhaikapada Paschimottanasana or three-limbed forward flex, Janu Sirsasana or head to knee, Maricyasana A, B, C and D or marci, Navasana A and B or boat, Bhujapidasana A and B or arm pressure, Kurmasana or tortoise, Supta Kurmasana or reclining tortoise, Garbha Pindasana or embryo in the womb, Kukkutasana or rooster, Baddha Konasana or bound angle and Upavishta Konasana or seated angle.

Lying Poses

Once you complete the standing and seated poses in the ashtanga primary collection, perform the following positions resting: Supta Konasana or sleeping angle, Supta Padanghushtasana or sleeping thumb to foot, Supta Parvasahita or lateral sleeping thumb to foot, Ubhaya Padangusthasana or both thumbs to feet, Urdhva Mukha Paschimattanasana or upward forward flex, Setu Bandhasana or bridge, Urdhva Dhanurasana or upward bow, Paschimottanasana or seated forward flex and Savasana or remains.


An inversion is a pose where your heart is placed above your head. The inversions exercised in the ashtanga main collection include handstand or Adho Mukha Vrksasana, shoulder stand or Salamba Sarvangasana, plow or Halasana, headstand or Sirsasana and armstand or Urdhva Sirsasana. Do all inversions with caution under the guidance of a skilled educator.